emmahevezi

Brilliant Day.

In Uncategorized on February 22, 2012 at 8:54 pm

Today I had an amazing day. It consisted of spending time with a friend just roaming around London. It makes me realise what a beautiful city I live in. 

The surroundings of the places I visited today was just unbelievable. The variety of buildings, of designs, the amount of history tucked in every corner is amazing. How I have missed this before is beyond me. It may have helped that I was with someone who made it so fun, just chatting and laughing from Green Park all the way to Waterloo and then towards Covent Garden. 

I was just taking in the sights from half past 10 until half past 4 struggling to take in the designs and the history that has stacked up around us. Enjoying a coffee we visited St James Park which is the oldest of the Royal Parks in London, we viewed the wide range of birds which inhabit the park including pelicans, herons, seagulls and many, many pigeons! In 1603, it was ordered that the park be drained and landscaped, and kept exotic animals in the park, including camels,crocodiles, and an elephant, as well as aviaries of exotic birds along the south. If only it had been kept this way, we could have enjoyed a zoo visit as well! 

We then moved on to the Temple Church just off of Fleet Street. A hidden gem of historic significance  which you would not expect to find in the district most fondly associated with the newspaper industry. The Temple Church is a late-12th-century church built for and by the Knights Templar as their English headquarters. I got an unbelievable sense on nostalgia thinking about the presence of the knights and noblemen who would have visited this historic place. As I stood there taking in my surroundings I began to imagine what the surrounding area would have been like. 

I could not have wished for a better day. 

  1. Yes, we are very lucky to live in London. It is an amazing place.

Leave a Reply

