emmahevezi

weekend away…

In Uncategorized on March 26, 2012 at 7:18 am

I spent the weekend away from technology, away from London, away from distraction. It was the most restful weekend that I have ever had!

We went to a spa in Canterbury just to relax and chill out and OH MY did it work! Never did I realize how much I needed to take the time out to step back from my fast paced life, I don’t know how I haven’t seen or felt it before. The reason for this weekend was my Mums birthday so we went away so that my sister and I could look after my mum because she has had a hard time recently.

As life soars and races along, people pass, transport seamlessly takes us from A to B. We worry about what we wear, what we eat, who we talk to and what gadgetry we have or don’t have.

When we were in Canterbury everything was much more simple, it gave me the chance to appreciate the beauty around me, the natural simplicity of the potato fields, the rolling hills, going shopping in the farm shop rather than the industrial warehouse that is Tesco.

The potato fields under the layers of fog which formed over night were the perfect place for me to stroll and gave me the ability to process my thoughts. When I stood in the middle in the field I stopped, did a full turn just to take in my full surroundings and could not see the edges of the field. This made me feel that I was isolated and shut off from the world, as if the world was passing me by as I stood still. But strangely, for a change, I didn’t mind!

These things put together helped me to relax and remove myself from my busy and hectic lifestyle to appreciate what is around me.  

  1. Thanks for stopping by my blog. I am in full technology silence! Monday is the day to read blogs and facebook and all that stuff. Lovely posting!

    • i love the idea of that, i have had 2 days away from my personal technology yet i have dealt with technology at work. working with computers all day in retail means that there isn’t much of a break for me :/
      keep smiling

      • So far Its’ been like a holiday for the brain! Signing on at internet cafes with time limits on free internet is in an odd way more freeing than having it all the time!

  2. That’s very nice 🙂

  3. I love the idea of stepping away from technology. However, I really love the idea of stepping away for a couple of days from everyone I know.. take my laptop with me as I travel to another city. The idea of isolating myself from others, allows me to be free of pleasing others, meeting deadlines and taking care of things. To be able to explore by myself and take my time and to not worry about holding anyone else back sounds quite lovely. When I am alone, I am able to freely ponder without any disruptions. There is so much that goes on in my life that it can be difficult to find serenity. Which has been a recent goal of mind… I think I’m going to study abroad this fall so I can continually be in my creative flow.

    Great blog. I love reading your posts.

Leave a Reply

