emmahevezi

head in the clouds.

In Uncategorized on April 11, 2012 at 6:00 pm

i had a very relaxed day today, i don’t ever like to relax although medically i think i should, either for my physical health or mental health. but for me to relax i need to be able to switch off. 

i am always thinking about someone, something, how to do something or where i want to be. there is always something going on in my head. i like to think it is imagination, but the hyperactivity makes it really difficult for me to sit down and enjoy something, to enjoy things. 

wikipedia defines imagination as-

the ability of forming images and sensations when they are not perceived through sight, hearing, or other senses.

so every time that i am thinking it is my imagination firing up, maintaining the fire in the stoke. the steam train is ploughing along at 100 miles per hour winding through the vast countryside that is my mind. 

sometimes i cannot concentrate and i get very easily distracted. how do you concentrate? how do you switch off and focus what is important? 

  1. Actually these days my mind wanders round and round my imagination 🙂 but seriously i try to meditate every day it helps to quiet my mind so i can actually think straight – er

    • i think meditation is a good idea, i try to take a small amount of time out of each day to make sure that i take a moment to think about myself and help me to think straighter 🙂
      thanks for the comment, keep smiling

      • I have used meditation on and off for years but i have been practicing every night for the last few weeks and really helps me to sleep 🙂

  2. Imagination is fine and useful as long as one uses the mind consciously. It is, as you have noticed, when there are automatic thoughts, uncontrollable thoughts, that the problems arise.

    Regarding how to concentrate – it is simply a matter of practice. You can set aside periods where you concentrate your mind towards one thing for example. Like lying down, focusing on your heart beats. Or visualize an object or whatever you’d like to concentrate upon.

    It is also good to be focused on whatever you do throughout the day, not letting the mind to wander off. If you continously bring your attention to the moment, to whatever it is that you are doing, you keep the wild mind from accelerating into chaos. 🙂 It is when we are aware in the moment that we can really enjoy things and peace etc has a chance to manifest within 🙂

  3. Two days ago I made a cork board. It took 198 cork halves to make it. There was a time, not that long ago even if we’re keeping count with months, that I could not have picked up, placed, picked up again, added glue, laid in place 198 pieces of anything. My mind would have blown itself out. I had trouble concentrating on the mundane, but I could read for hours, do complex puzzles . . . My mind chose when it would behave. Then I learned how to be in the moment. Yes, the term has been over used just a mite, but it simply means paying attention. It is something that requires practice. Doesn’t it take 21 days to learn a habit? Why not 21 to learn how to pay attention? After all, WE control our minds. Right?

Leave a Reply

