emmahevezi

Bernard’s watch

In Uncategorized on April 13, 2012 at 8:00 pm

As I walked further away from the rumblings of the city, the screeching cars, the howling people, the constant bombardment of noise that is London I found myself wondering what it would be like if I could stop time. The noise was behind me as I stepped foot into the tranquil space that is holland park in Kensington. The walls which surround it cut out any noise, it is as if you have walked through a portal to a place completely different to the rest of London.
No rushing, no deadlines, no competitions just peace. There was nobody to judge me or tell me that I was wrong or not good enough. My head was clear as I mindlessly wandered the paths that zigzag around the royal park stumbling upon numerous new discoveries and areas of the park which appear to be untouched by human hands.
It makes me hope that there are more places like this. Places where I can be on my element just able to explore and think through everything that I have in my little head. The quietness allows you to reflect, only being disturbed by the birds, the wind or some other sight of beauty which you pass by.
It began thoughts of being able to bring this sense of peace and tranquility to everyday life. For me to really enjoy London it needs to be quiet, calm and open. Without the noise, the hustle and bustle and the constant need to compete. Competing for a seat on the tube, for my position in a queue, for my personal space on the pavement, for my friends and for my sanity. If I had the ability to stop time, be it for a day, weekend or even a few hours, just to be able to stop and enjoy london for its beauty without being judged. The quietness would suit me to a t. I am not designed to be in a loud environment I can only take so much noise! The world would continue to spin, days would pass, but you would have the ability to enjoy one day doing whatever you wanted in the ideal environs with little or no restrictions.
What would you do with Bernard’s watch?

20120413-205954.jpg

  1. Many years ago i worked has a nanny and lived on the far side of Holland Park from Kensington so you brought back memories. I had a look at google maps but couldn’t pick out exactly where i lived, it all looked so different. I also live at Nottinghill. It was a good time.

  2. Beautiful writing. Looking forward to reading more x

Leave a Reply

